“Her enthusiasm is contagious, her crystal-clear gestures shape the sound in a gripping but finely differentiated way” – wherever she conducts, Lena-Lisa Wüstendörfer enthuses audiences and reporters alike with her captivating, finely nuanced style.

Lena-Lisa Wüstendörfer is Musical Director of the Swiss Orchestra. She stands for concert programmes that take you off the beaten track and make you want to hear more and discover new things. Her doctorate in musicology also predestines her to do pioneering work in the revival or development of forgotten or unknown repertoires.

As a guest conductor she is also in demand internationally. Engagements have taken her to renowned orchestras such as the Lucerne Symphony Orchestra, Zurich Chamber Orchestra, Thailand Philharmonic Orchestra, Frankfurt Opera and Museum Orchestra, Musikkollegium Winterthur, Filharmonia Pomorska, Camerata Switzerland, Basel Sinfonietta, and Sinfonietta Berne. She is also Musical Director of the Bernese Bach Choir.

Born in Zurich in 1983, Lena-Lisa Wüstendörfer studied violin and conducting as well as musicology and economics in Basel. She furthered her studies with Sylvia Caduff and Sir Roger Norrington, and was assistant conductor to Claudio Abbado.

In addition to her concert activities, this PhD musicologist publishes in the field of musical interpretation and reception history. According to the Neue Zürcher Zeitung (NZZ), her volume Mahler Interpretation Today (edition text + critique 2015) is one of the most fascinating so far on recent Mahler performance practice.

«Ihre Leidenschaft ist ansteckend», die «glasklare Gestik» gestaltet den Klang auf «packende und zugleich differenzierte Weise» – wo Lena-Lisa Wüstendörfer auftritt, überzeugt sie Publikum wie Presse mit ihrem mitreissenden, nuancierten Dirigat.

Lena-Lisa Wüstendörfer ist Music Director des Swiss Orchestra. Sie steht für Konzertprogramme, die jenseits ausgetretener Pfade Lust machen, mehr zu hören und Neues zu entdecken. Als promovierte Musikwissenschaftlerin ist sie zudem geradezu prädestiniert, Pionierarbeit bei der Erschliessung unbekannten Repertoires zu leisten.

Als Gastdirigentin ist sie international gefragt. Engagements führten sie zu renommierten Klangkörpern wie dem Luzerner Sinfonieorchester, Zürcher Kammerorchester, Thailand Philharmonic Orchestra, Frankfurter Opern- und Museumsorchester, Musikkollegium Winterthur, zur Filharmonia Pomorska, Camerata Schweiz, Basel Sinfonietta oder der Sinfonietta Bern. Ausserdem ist sie künstlerische Leiterin des Berner Bach Chors.

1983 in Zürich geboren, studierte Lena-Lisa Wüstendörfer in Basel Violine und Dirigieren sowie Musikwissenschaft und Volkswirtschaft. Sie vertiefte ihre Studien bei Sylvia Caduff und Sir Roger Norrington und war Assistenzdirigentin von Claudio Abbado.

Ergänzend zu ihrer Konzerttätigkeit publiziert die promovierte Musikwissenschaftlerin auf dem Gebiet der Rezeptions- und Interpretationsgeschichte. Der von ihr herausgegebene Band «Mahler- Interpretation heute» (edition text + kritik 2015) gehört laut der Neuen Zürcher Zeitung NZZ zum «Faszinierendsten», was zur jüngeren Mahler-Rezeption publiziert wurde.

WEBSITE LENA-LISA WÜSTENDÖRFER