“Her enthusiasm is contagious, her crystal-clear gestures shape the sound in a gripping but finely differentiated way” – wherever she conducts, Lena-Lisa Wüstendörfer enthuses audiences and reporters alike with her captivating, finely nuanced style.

Lena-Lisa Wüstendörfer is Musical Director of the Swiss Orchestra. She stands for concert programmes that take you off the beaten track and make you want to hear more and discover new things. Her doctorate in musicology also predestines her to do pioneering work in the revival or development of forgotten or unknown repertoires.

As a guest conductor she is also in demand internationally. Engagements have taken her to renowned orchestras such as the Lucerne Symphony Orchestra, Zurich Chamber Orchestra, Thailand Philharmonic Orchestra, Frankfurt Opera and Museum Orchestra, Musikkollegium Winterthur, Filharmonia Pomorska, Camerata Switzerland, Basel Sinfonietta, and Sinfonietta Berne. She is also Musical Director of the Bernese Bach Choir.

Born in Zurich in 1983, Lena-Lisa Wüstendörfer studied violin and conducting as well as musicology and economics in Basel. She furthered her studies with Sylvia Caduff and Sir Roger Norrington, and was assistant conductor to Claudio Abbado.

In addition to her concert activities, this PhD musicologist publishes in the field of musical interpretation and reception history. According to the Neue Zürcher Zeitung (NZZ), her volume Mahler Interpretation Today (edition text + critique 2015) is one of the most fascinating so far on recent Mahler performance practice.

« Sa passion est contagieuse », sa « conduite cristalline », elle mène sa baguette de manière « aussi captivante que différenciée » – quel que soit le public, Lena-Lisa Wüstendörfer enchante la presse et les auditeurs par sa direction envoûtante et riche en nuances.

Lena-Lisa Wüstendörfer est la directrice musicale du Swiss Orchestra. En signant un programme inouï, elle sort des chemins battus pour faire découvrir des œuvres à un public qui en redemandera. Musicologue chevronnée, la cheffe d’orchestre vient à point nommé pour explorer de nouveaux répertoires en véritable pionnière.

Comme cheffe invitée elle est demandée sur le plan international. Elle s’est produite avec des orchestres aussi renommés que l’Orchestre symphonique de Lucerne, l’Orchestre de chambre de Zurich, l’Orchestre philharmonique de Thaïlande, l’Opern- et Museumsorchester de Francfort, le Musikkollegium de Winterthur, la Philharmonie de Poméranie, l’Orchestre symphonique Camerata Suisse ainsi que Basel Sinfonietta et Sinfonietta de Berne. Elle est en outre directrice artistique du Berner Bach Chor.

Née en 1983 à Zurich, Lena-Lisa Wüstendörfer a étudié le violon, la direction et la musicologie voire l’économie politique à Bâle, études approfondies auprès de Sylvia Caduff et Sir Roger Norrington par la suite. Elle a été cheffe assistante de Claudio Abbado.

Titulaire d’une thèse en musicologie, Wüstendörfer ne se distingue pas seulement par son activité concertante, on lui doit aussi des publications historiques sur la réception et l’interprétation des œuvres musicales. Le volume sur les Interprétations contemporaines de Mahler (éd. text + kritik 2015) publié par ses soins est, selon le feuilleton de la NZZ, une des contributions les plus fascinantes sur l’interprétation de Mahler de nos jours.