Tour #8

Brilliantly Swiss

29–30 June 2024

Swiss Orchestra
Lena-Lisa Wüstendörfer, conductor
Sebastian Bohren, violin

29.6.2024
Saturday, 7:30 PM
Andermatt
Concert Hall
30.6.2024
Sunday, 5:00 PM

ADVANCE TICKETS (concerts in Zurich & Davos): Tickets are also available at all Swiss Post branches with advance ticket sales as well as at other advance booking offices (e.g. Zurich Tourism, Bider & Tanner Basel, BLS Travel Centres, Elmo Ticket, Heidiland Tourism). Telephone orders via the Ticketino hotline 0900 441 441 (CHF 1.00/min).

ADVANCE TICKETS (concert in Andermatt): Tickets for concerts by ANDERMATT MUSIC are available online via andermattmusic.ch/de/konzerte-und-tickets/ or through the following advance booking offices: Customer Services, Gütschgasse 6, 6490 Andermatt; Tourist Informations in Altdorf and Andermatt; Ticketcorner: Throughout Switzerland at all advance booking offices as well as under the number 0900 800 800 (CHF 1.19/min.); wheelchair seats are available through Customer Services under the number +41 41 888 15 88.

REDUCTIONS (applies to concerts in Zurich & Davos): 50% discount for schoolchildren, trainees, students with a Legi card and holders of a KulturLegi.

Concert Programme

Paul Juon (1872 – 1940 Vevey)
5 Pieces for String Orchestra op. 16
4 Pieces for Violin and Piano (version for violin and orchestra) op. 28 No. 3, Berceuse

Giuseppe Tartini (1692–1770)
Sonata in g minor “The Devil’s Trill” (arr. Fritz Kreisler)

Fritz Kreisler (1875–1962)
Prelude and Allegro
Variations on a Theme of Corelli
”Liebesfreud”
”Schön Rosmarin”

Edvard Grieg (1843–1907)
“Holberg Suite” op. 40

George Templeton Strong (1856 – 1948 Geneva)
Chorale on a Theme of Leo Hassler

On 8 February 1935, the Viennese-born, Austrian-American violinist-composer Fritz Kreisler saw himself compelled to make a statement to the New York Times to clarify a growing scandal: “Some 30 years ago, circumstances forced me to take this course of action when I wanted to expand my concert repertoire. It seemed improper and tactless to me to put my name repeatedly on my programmes”. So what had happened? According to his own account, Kreisler – a child prodigy who had advanced to become the star violinist of the first half of the 20th century – had acquired manuscripts of music by older composers such as Gaetano Pugnani, François Couperin and Antonio Vivaldi, who at the time were essentially unknown. He had then “arranged” them for violin, published the resultant music and played these works in his concerts. It was the music critic Olin Downes who finally revealed that many of these supposedly Baroque works had in fact been composed by Kreisler himself. They were “forgeries” – and this triggered a perfect scandal on the classical music scene, one that was reported all over the world.

Many thought it all an amusing joke, though it left a nasty taste in the mouth of some critics, Ernest Newman in particular: “How easy it is, and always has been, to write this kind of music […] Anyone with the slightest inkling of music in him, and the slightest knowledge of the period in question, could produce something like this every morning, using only the hand that he doesn’t need for shaving”. But this detracts not a whit from the popularity of Kreisler’s compositions, as we can confirm in this concert with the Swiss Orchestra and the high-flying violin virtuoso Sebastian Bohren. He here presents a selection of works including Kreisler’s Prelude and Allegro – initially attributed to Pugnani – plus pieces in the Viennese style, such as the popular “Liebesfreud”, alongside Giuseppe Tartini’s virtuoso “Devil’s Trill” Sonata and Paul Juon’s Berceuse.

Two little-known, late-Romantic Swiss works are also on our programme: the 5 Pieces by Paul Juon, whose family roots were in Canton Graubünden, and a chorale by George Templeton Strong, who grew up in Geneva. The Swiss Orchestra’s signature feature is rediscovering unjustly forgotten works of Swiss music from the Classical and Romantic periods, and combining them with more famous works. And so Edvard Grieg’s popular “Holberg Suite” rounds off our diverse concert programme today.

Sebastian Bohren is a violinist who, as both concerto soloist and chamber musician, strikes a distinctive balance in his interpretations and his choice of repertoire, which favours the Classical and early Romantic eras, the 20th century, and the present day. The Süddeutsche Zeitung has described Bohren as “one of the most serious-minded, forthright musicians of his generation” while BBC Music Magazine’s 5* review of his Avie recording of Mozart violin concertos praised his “gorgeous solo playing […] vividly alert to the music’s every shift and turn.”

Sebastian Bohren regularly works with ensembles such as the Basel Symphony Orchestra, the Orchestra della Svizzera Italiana, the Lucerne Symphony and Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestras, the Deutsche Staatsphilharmonie and the Munich Chamber Orchestra, playing under the baton of Michael Sanderling, Cristian Macelaru, Marc Minkowski, Heinz Holliger, Andrew Manze, Emmanuel Tjeknavorian, James Gaffigan and Ivor Bolton.

Bohren studied in Zurich with Jens Lohmann and later with Robert Zimansky and Zakhar Bron before continuing his studies with Igor Karsko in Lucerne and with Ingold Turban at the University of Music and Theatre in Munich. Other formative influences during his artistic development were Ana Chumachenco, Hansheinz Schneeberger, Dmitry Sitkovetsky, Christian Tetzlaff and Heinrich Schiff. Bohren today lives in Zurich but maintains his close links to his home canton of Aargau through the successful Stretta Concerts series that he directs, and through the Brugg Festival.

He plays a 1761 violin made in Parma by Giovanni Battista Guadagnini, the “Ex-Wanamaker-Hart”.

Tournée #8

Brilliantly Swiss

29–30 juin 2024

Swiss Orchestra
Lena-Lisa Wüstendörfer, direction
Sebastian Bohren, violon

29.6.2024
Samedi, 19:30 heures
Andermatt
Concert Hall
30.6.2024
Dimanche, 17:00 heures

PRÉVENTE (concerts à Zurich et Davos): Les billets pour tous les concerts sont disponibles dans les filiales de la Poste Suisse avec prévente de tickets. > Plus d’agences de billets
Service de commande par téléphone (ticketino) : 0900 441 441 (CHF 1.00/min).

PRÉVENTE (concert à Andermatt): Les billets pour les concerts de ANDERMATT MUSIC sont disponibles online sous andermattmusic.ch/de/konzerte-und-tickets/ ou aux bureaux de location suivants: Customer Services, Gütschgasse 6, 6490 Andermatt; Tourist informations à Altdorf et Andermatt; Ticketcorner: Dans la Suisse entière à tous les bureaux de location et sous le numéro 0900 800 800 (CHF 1.19/min.); Des places pour fauteuils roulants sont disponible aux Customer Services sous le numéro +41 41 888 15 88.

RÉDUCTIONS (valable pour les concerts à Zurich et Davos): Tarif réduit 50% pour étudiants, apprentis et bénéficiaires de la CarteCulture sur présentation d’un justificatif. Tarif spécial pour les seniors à Lausanne.

Programme

Paul Juon (1872 – 1940 Vevey)
5 pièces pour orchestre à cordes op. 16
4 pièces pour violon et orchestre op. 28 No. 3 Berceuse

Giuseppe Tartini (1692–1770)
Sonate pour violon en sol mineur «trilles du Diable» (arrangement de Fritz Kreisler)

Fritz Kreisler (1875–1962)
Präludium und Allegro
Variationen über ein Thema von Corelli
Liebesfreud
Schön Rosmarin

Edvard Grieg (1843–1907)
Holberg Suite op. 40

George Templeton Strong (1856 – 1948 Genève)
Chorale on a Theme of Leo Hassler

Le 8 février 1935, le violoniste et compositeur viennois Fritz Kreisler, au cœur d’un scandale, se voyait forcé de se défendre dans le New York Times : « Les circonstances m’ont obligé à procéder ainsi, il y a une trentaine d’années, lorsque j’ai décidé d’élargir mes programmes de concert. Cela m’a semblé inconvenant et dépourvu de tact de répéter sans cesse mon nom sur les programmes. » Que s’était-il passé ? L’enfant prodige Kreisler, devenu une star du violon au début du XXe siècle, avait prétendu avoir acquis des manuscrits de compositeurs baroques comme Gaetano Pugnani, François Couperin ou Antonio Vivaldi. Il les avait « arrangés » pour violon, avait fait imprimer les partitions et les avait jouées en concert. Le critique musical Olin Downes avait cependant découvert le pot aux roses : nombre de ces partitions soi-disant baroques étaient en réalité de la plume de Kreisler. Le scandale, qui eut un écho dans le monde entier, était parfait.

Nombreux furent ceux qui virent là une amusante plaisanterie, mais certains critiques comme Ernest Newman furent piqués au vif : « Comme c’est simple et cela l’a toujours été d’écrire ce genre de musique ! […] N’importe qui ayant une once de créativité musicale et de connaissance de l’époque serait capable de produire cela tous les matins avec la main dont il n’a pas besoin pour se raser. » Cela n’empêche pas les compositions de Kreisler d’être appréciées du public, ce que confirmera le concert du Swiss Orchestra et de Sebastian Bohren, jeune virtuose du violon, qui interprètera notamment le Prélude et Allegro de Kreisler, attribué dans un premier temps à Pugnani, des pièces dans le style viennois, dont le prisé Liebesfreud, la Sonate dite « du diable » de Giuseppe Tartini, et la Berceuse de Paul Juon.

Figurent en outre au programme deux œuvres postromantiques suisses méconnues, les Cinq Pièces du compositeur Paul Juon, qui avaient des racines dans les Grisons, et un Choral de George Templeton Strong, écrit à Genève. Le Swiss Orchestra a pour objectif de faire redécouvrir des partitions suisses classiques et romantiques injustement tombées dans l’oubli et de les associer à des pages célèbres. C’est ainsi la Suite Holberg de Edvard Grieg, fort appréciée du public, qui conclut ce programme varié.

Autant comme soliste qu’en musique de chambre, le violoniste Sebastian Bohren séduit par l’équilibre de son jeu et de ses programmes qui puisent principalement dans le répertoire classique et le premier romantisme, ainsi que dans le XXe siècle et la musique contemporaine. Le Süddeutsche Zeitung le qualifie de « l’un des musiciens les plus sérieux et les plus droits de sa génération », et en 2021 le BBC Music Magazine attribuait cinq étoiles à son disque de concertos de Mozart, soulignant « son jeu fantastique » et « sa manière de suivre avec attention et vivacité chaque méandre de la musique ».

Sebastian Bohren se produit régulièrement avec, entre autres, l’Orchestre symphonique de Bâle, l’Orchestra della Svizzera Italiana, l’Orchestre symphonique de Lucerne, le Royal Liverpool Philharmonic, la Deutsche Staatsphilharmonie et l’Orchestre de chambre de Munich sous la direction notamment de Michael Sanderling, Cristian Măcelaru, Marc Minkowski, Heinz Holliger, Andrew Manze, Emmanuel Tjeknavorian, James Gaffigan et Ivor Bolton.

Après s’être formé à Zurich avec Jens Lohmann, puis Robert Zimansky et Zakhar Bron, il se perfectionne avec Igor Karsko, à Lucerne, et avec Ingold Turban, à la Hochschule für Musik und Theater de Munich. Sur le plan artistique, il a beaucoup appris d’Ana Chumachenco, Hansheinz Schneeberger, Dmitry Sitkovetsky, Christian Tetzlaff et Heinrich Schiff. Installé désormais à Zurich, il reste lié à son canton d’origine, l’Argovie, notamment à travers le Festival de Brugg et la série Stretta Concerts, qu’il dirige avec succès.

Il joue un violon de Giovanni Battista Guadagnini, le « Ex-Wanamaker-Hart » fabriqué en 1761 à Parme.